HUD and NeighborWorks America Roll Out Their EHLP Program to 27 States and Puerto Rico

The US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and NeighborWorks America announced yesterday that they will be launching their Emergency Homeowners’ Loan Program (EHLP) in an effort to help homeowners who are at risk of foreclosure caused by a reduction in income stemming from involuntary unemployment or underemployment, due to economic conditions, or a medical condition.

Currently, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Maryland, and Pennsylvania operate similar programs that administer EHLP funds. The EHLP is now expanded to the following 27 states and Puerto Rico:  Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Share this article: